Printer Friendly Version
Group Members

Click on the name of each member of the AOML/HRD Numerical Modeling Group to view a brief biography:


Dr. S. G. Gopalakrishnan (Group Lead Scientist)
Research Meteorologist - DOC/NOAA/OAR/AOML/HRD

Contact email: Gopal@noaa.gov
Contact phone: (305)361-4357

Research interests: Numerical Weather predictions of Tropical Cyclones, Scale Interactions, Convection and Planetary Boundary Layer modeling.


Dr. Ghassan Alaka, Jr.
Postdoctoral Associate - UMIAMI/RSMAS/CIMAS

Contact email: Ghassan.Alaka@noaa.gov
Contact phone: (305)361-4409

Research interests: Numerical Modeling, Large-scale Dynamics, Tropical Cyclogenesis


Mr. Robert A. Black
Research Meteorologist - DOC/NOAA/OAR/AOML/HRD

Contact email: Robert.A.Black@noaa.gov
Contact phone: (305)361-4314

Research interests: Ice microphysics, aerosols, precipitation, hurricane convection/vertical winds.


Dr. Hua Chen
Postdoctoral Researcher

Contact email: Hua.Chen@noaa.gov
Contact phone: (305)361-4559

Research interests: Numerical modeling, rapid intensification of hurricanes.


Dr. Javier Delgado
Senior Research Associate - UMIAMI/RSMAS/CIMAS

Contact email: Javier.Delgado@noaa.gov
Contact phone: (305)361-4433

Research interests: Performance analysis of scientific software, distributed computing, scientific job scheduling, numerical weather modeling.


Dr. Steven Diaz
Senior Research Associate - UMIAMI/RSMAS/CIMAS

Contact email: Steven.Diaz@noaa.gov
Contact phone: (305)361-4431


Mr. Stanley Goldenberg
Research Meteorologist - DOC/NOAA/OAR/AOML/HRD

Contact email: Stanley.Goldenberg@noaa.gov
Contact phone: (305)361-4362

Research interests: Numerical hurricane track and intensity prediction, El Nino and Atlantic hurricane activity variability.


Ms. Mu-Chieh Ko
Senior Research Associate - UMIAMI/RSMAS/CIMAS

Contact email: Mu-Chieh.Ko@noaa.gov
Contact phone: (305)361-4551

Research interests: Numerical modeling of tropical cyclone prediction.


Mr. Russell St. Fleur
IT Specialist - UMIAMI/RSMAS/CIMAS

Contact email: Russell.St.Fleur@noaa.gov
Contact phone: (305)361-4503

Research interests: Observational data processing, ingestion, and numerical modeling


Dr. Xuejin Zhang
Associate Scientist - UMIAMI/RSMAS/CIMAS

Contact email: Xuejin.Zhang@noaa.gov
Contact phone: (305)361-4558

Research interests: Numerical modeling and model development, hurricane forecasts, land-air-sea interaction, numerical weather prediction, numerical methods, and parallel computing.


Honorary Group Members

The AOML/HRD Numerical Modeling Group acknowledges the vital scientific and executive support that it has received since its inception from both Dr. Frank Marks, director of NOAA's Hurricane Research Division (HRD), and Dr. Robert Atlas, director of the Atlantic Oceanographic and Meteorological Laboratory (AOML). Their support and involvement has been crucial in the group's quest to fulfill NOAA's goal of improving hurricane track, structure, and intensity predictions in order to benefit society and increase the public's confidence in its official forecasts and warnings.


Dr. Frank Marks
Director - DOC/NOAA/OAR/AOML/HRD

Contact email: Frank.Marks@noaa.gov
Contact phone: (305)361-4321

Research interests: analysis of meteorological remote sensing data (e.g., microwave radar and radiometer).


Dr. Robert Atlas
Director - DOC/NOAA/OAR/AOML

Contact email: Robert.Atlas@noaa.gov
Contact phone: (305)361-4300





Stay Connected